---
title: "Delete a SharePoint site"
canonical: "https://kb.uconn.edu/space/IKB/26308247602/Delete%20a%20SharePoint%20site"
format: markdown
---
SharePoint site Owners can delete their site. If the SharePoint site is bundled with other resources (like Teams), deleting the site will also delete the associated resources.

> 📝 Deleted sites and all of their data will sit in an ITS-managed recycle bin for 30 days after deletion. Therefore, the URLs of those sites are reserved for 30 days.
> 📝 
> 📝 If you would like to re-use the URL of a previously deleted site within this timeline, please reach out to [techsupport@uconn.edu](mailto:techsupport@uconn.edu) to have them permanently delete the site from the recycle bin.

## Considerations Before Deleting

- If the SharePoint site is bundled with other Microsoft 365 resources (like Teams or Groups), deleting the site will also delete the associated resources and any data they contain.
- If the SharePoint site was created for a HuskyCT course, the site may be needed for the course to function.
  - If you used OneDrive integrations to upload files to a HuskyCT course, the course is using an underlying SharePoint site.

> ⚠️ If you delete a SharePoint site created by HuskyCT, you will delete any files uploaded to the HuskyCT course, and all links in HuskyCT to the files will break.
> ⚠️ 
> ⚠️ If you restore the HuskyCT course in the future, the links will remain broken and the files will not be recovered.

## Deleting a Site

1. Navigate to [s.uconn.edu/sharepoint](http://s.uconn.edu/sharepoint) and click on the site you would like to delete.
2. Once the site loads, it may be another few seconds before the settings gear appears at the top-right of the page. Click on this settings gear when it appears.
3. In the list of settings, click on **Site information**.  
If you don't see “Site information” in the list, you may not be an Owner of the SharePoint site. Contact a site Owner to have the site deleted.
4. Click on **Delete site**.

> ℹ️ Your site and its contents (data) will be placed in an ITS-managed recycle bin for 30 days. After 30 days, the data will be permanently deleted.
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ If you would like to restore any of the data, the whole site will need to be restored. Reach out to [techsupport@uconn.edu](mailto:techsupport@uconn.edu) to restore your site from this recycle bin.


## Can’t Delete the Site?

If you want to delete a SharePoint site but aren’t able to, there are a few common reasons why:

- Only Owners or Administrators can delete SharePoint sites.
  - If you aren’t an Owner, you will need to ask an Owner to delete the site.
- Creating a Private Channel in a Teams team will also create a SharePoint site.
  - SharePoint sites linked to Private Channels can only be deleted by deleting the Private Channel in Teams.


## Related Guides

> Macro (contentbylabel)