---
title: "TESTRemove Access to Shared Items in OneDrive"
canonical: "https://kb.uconn.edu/space/IKB/26258081393/TESTRemove%20Access%20to%20Shared%20Items%20in%20OneDrive"
format: markdown
---
Once a OneDrive file/folder has been shared with others, that access can be revoked at any time by managing the permissions. Removing access will prevent users from opening documents previously shared with them.

> ✅ Follow this guide if you have shared items in your OneDrive and wish to revoke access.

## Stop Sharing Items - Windows

1. Log in to your computer. From your desktop, open **File Explorer** by clicking the icon, using the keyboard shortcut (Windows Key + E), or searching for it in the Start menu.
2. Navigate to the item that you want to stop sharing.
3. Right click on the item and look at the **OneDrive **options. Click on **Manage access**.
4. These instructions continue below. Please continue down the page below the macOS instructions.

## Stop Sharing Items - MacOS

1. Log in to your computer. From your desktop, open Finder by clicking on the icon or by pressing Command + Spacebar on your keyboard and searching for **Finder**.
2. Navigate to the item that you want to stop sharing.
3. Right click, or two-finger click, on the item and look at the **OneDrive **options. Click on **Share**.
4. Click on the **Shared with:** icons to view the people you are sharing with.
5. Continue Below

## Removing Access

1. In the popup window, click on the downward facing caret that sits next to the icons of those you are sharing with.
2. In the list of people, click on the X next to a name to stop sharing with them.
  
3. Or, you can click on **Stop sharing** to remove access from everyone who you have shared the item with.
  

## Animated Instructions

![image](media://b7f7e549-c971-490d-9263-a77fac06e448)

## Stop Sharing Items - Website

<details>
<summary>Click to expand instructions</summary>

1. Navigate to [https://uconn-my.sharepoint.com/](https://uconn-my.sharepoint.com/) and sign in with your <u>UConn email address</u> and <u>NetID password</u>.
2. Next to the desired file/folder, click on the **vertical ellipsis**.
3. In the drop-down bar, select **Manage access.**
4. In the sidebar to the right, click on the **down arrow** next to the list of users with access.
5. Click the **X** next to the user to remove access. Or click on **Stop sharing** to remove all access (besides your own) to the item.
6. Click **Remove** to confirm.
7. Or, you can click on **Stop sharing** to remove access from everyone who you have shared the item with.
</details>

## Related Articles

> Macro (contentbylabel)

> Macro (details)
> 
> | Related issues |  |
> | --- | --- |