---
title: "Manage Access to Shared Items in OneDrive and SharePoint"
canonical: "https://kb.uconn.edu/space/IKB/10833297421/Manage%20Access%20to%20Shared%20Items%20in%20OneDrive%20and%20SharePoint"
format: markdown
---
Once a OneDrive or SharePoint item (file or folder) has been shared with others, access can be edited or revoked at any time by managing the permissions. Removing access will prevent users from opening documents previously shared with them.

> ✅ These steps can also be followed at [s.uconn.edu/onedrive](http://s.uconn.edu/onedrive) and [s.uconn.edu/sharepoint](http://s.uconn.edu/sharepoint).

## Navigate to the Item - Windows

1. Log in to your computer. From your desktop, open **File Explorer** by clicking the icon, using the keyboard shortcut (Windows Key + E), or searching for it in the Start menu.
2. Navigate to the item that you want to stop sharing.
3. Right click on the item and look at the **OneDrive **options. Click on **Manage access**.
4. These instructions continue below. Please continue down the page below the macOS instructions.

## Navigate to the Item - MacOS

1. Log in to your computer. From your desktop, open Finder by clicking on the icon or by pressing Command + Spacebar on your keyboard and searching for **Finder**.
2. Navigate to the item that you want to stop sharing.
3. Right click, or two-finger click, on the item and look at the **OneDrive **options. Click on **Share**.
4. Click on the **Shared with:** icons to view the people you are sharing with.
5. Continue Below

## Altering Access

1. In the popup window, you will see everyone who has access to the item.
2. In the list of people, click on person you would like to edit the permissions of.  
Alternatively, you may click on **Stop sharing** at the top to revoke access to everyone at once.
3. Once you are viewing the person you would like to edit, click on **Direct Access: [current permission level]** to expand the description of their permission level.   
Click on their permission level to alter it. If needed, click on **Remove direct access** to revoke the share entirely.
4. Click **Apply** when you are done.

## Animated Instructions

![image](media://bb53d24d-ff92-4f7c-9910-f2aab621de65)

## Related Articles

> Macro (contentbylabel)

> Macro (details)
> 
> | Related issues |  |
> | --- | --- |