---
title: "Saving and Closing a BC Document (Session Timeout and Cleanup)"
canonical: "https://kb.uconn.edu/space/FPB/10942120096/Saving%20and%20Closing%20a%20BC%20Document%20(Session%20Timeout%20and%20Cleanup)"
format: markdown
---
You can properly save and close a BC document and the position screens within the Budget Construction module in order to avoid locking the BC document.

As a reminder, only one user can work on a document at a time. Within the Budget Construction module, there are a series of screens that you will use to enter budget data for positions, and if you do not save and close the screens properly, you may lose the work you performed or lock others from being able to take action on the BC document.

The system purposely allows only one user to edit a BC document at a time. Therefore, after saving it is important to close a screen or a BC document so you do not inadvertently hold up the budget process for other users.

# > Macro (anchor)

Session Timeout and Cleanup

If you do not close a screen or a BC document properly or if you leave the system idle, your session will time out and the next time you try to enter the **Budget Construction module** via the Budget Construction Selection link, the below message will display. You must click **Yes** in order to clean up and reopen your budgeting session.  
> Macro (inline-media-image)



## Related Articles

> Macro (contentbylabel)